How do you delete your Twitter account?

Need to delete your Twitter account but don’t know how? We invite you to discover how to do it on iOS and Android as well as on Windows, macOS, Linux, etc.

If Twitter is undoubtedly one of the best social networks for discussing many topics, conducting virtual meetings and discovering news from all over the world, the fact remains that the blue bird can be poisonous at times. Different opinions that lead to virtual disputes, spam and spam are unfortunately an inseparable part of everyday life on this social network. Sometimes we may want to leave. To do this, you can deactivate your Twitter account, from a computer, smartphone or tablet.

Delete your Twitter account, or deactivate it?

If you want to leave Twitter other than just uninstalling the app from your smartphone, you have a solution: deactivate your Twitter account. Unlike Facebook, Blue Bird Network does not offer any direct deletion; If you want to resign for not hearing anything about your Twitter account again, you will have to first deactivate it. After 30 days without reconnecting the said account, it will be permanently deleted, and therefore cannot be recovered.

How do you disable your Twitter account?

First of all, know that Twitter has planned everything so as not to deactivate in an undesirable manner. With this, we understand that deactivating an account requires following several steps, some of which are very secure (password, popup, confirmation, etc.).

Deactivate your Twitter account via the iPhone or iPad app

If you use your iPhone or iPad every day to tweet, know that it is entirely possible to deactivate your Twitter account directly from the official app. To do this, open it and then follow these steps:

  • Click on your profile picture at the top left of the screen;
  • Scroll through the menu that just opened, and then click “Settings and confidentiality”;
  • Click “Your Account”;
  • Click “Deactivate Account” on the right.
  • Scroll down if necessary and again click on “Disable”;
  • Twitter will ask you to enter your password. Once done, click the red “Disable” button and then confirm on the popup.

Your Twitter account has officially been deactivated.

Deactivate your Twitter account via the Android app

In the official Android app, deactivating an account is exactly the same as on iOS. The display may change only slightly between the two, but Twitter has made an effort to offer a very similar interface. So these are the steps to follow:

  • Click on your profile picture at the top left of the screen;
  • Scroll through the menu that just opened, and then click “Settings and confidentiality”;
  • Click “Your Account”;
  • Click “Deactivate Account” on the right.
  • Scroll down if necessary and again click on “Disable”;
  • Twitter will ask you to enter your password. Once done, click the red “Disable” button and then confirm on the popup.

Deactivate Twitter Account from Android

Here you are, you just deactivated your Twitter account via your Android smartphone or tablet!

Deactivate your Twitter account via a browser (on PC)

From Windows, macOS, Linux, or another browser-enabled operating system, go to the Twitter homepage. Sign in if you are not already signed in, then follow these few steps:

  • On the left of the screen, click “More” (with an icon representing three dots circled);
  • Click “Settings and privacy”;
  • If this is not already the case, click “Your Account” in the left column;
  • Then click “Deactivate Account” on the right;
  • Click again on “Disable”;
  • Twitter will ask you to enter your password. Once done, click the red “Disable” button.

Done, your Twitter account has been deactivated.

General questions about deleting a Twitter account

Will my profile and tweets still be visible when my Twitter account is deactivated?

All content you have posted will become invisible on Twitter. Your tweets and profile will not be deleted, but no one will be able to access them; Instead, messages will be displayed stating that your account is disabled.

How do I reactivate my Twitter account?

The procedure is simple, because all you have to do is connect to your Twitter account from a computer or smartphone to reactivate it. A popup will ask you if you really want to reactivate the account and you just have to confirm. No more, no less.

Twitter account reactivation

Can I reactivate my account whenever I want?

You do not have a minimum time between deactivation and reactivation. You can do this after a few seconds if you like. But you have a maximum period: 30 days after deactivating your account and without any communication on your part, it will be permanently deleted. So it will be impossible to access it again.

Is it possible to recover my data before deactivating my Twitter account?

In recent years, social networks have tried to introduce a data recovery system, thanks to some laws that have imposed on them. Twitter is no exception to the rule. If you want to recover your Twitter data, here’s how to do it:

  • connect to twitter;
  • Go to “Settings and confidentiality”, or “Settings and confidentiality”;
  • Click “Your Account”;
  • Click “Download archive of your data”;
  • enter your password;
  • Confirm via email or SMS that it is indeed you;
  • Press “Request archive”;
  • Wait while Twitter prepares the archive. This process may take more than 24 hours.
See also  The hoax of NASA's programs to launch its innovative Mars helicopter from Earth again

Frank Mccarthy

<p class="sign">"Certified gamer. Problem solver. Internet enthusiast. Twitter scholar. Infuriatingly humble alcohol geek. Tv guru."</p>

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top